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Superior Court of the State of California 
County of Kings 

 

 

 

 

Judicial Consent to Marry  (underage marriage) 
There is no fee for this packet. 

When a couple wishes to marry, and at least one or both parties are under 18 years of 
age the following is required: 

a.) Each applicant must complete an Application for Judicial Consent to Marry. 

b.) California State Law (Family Code 302) requires that a written consent of the 

parent/legal guardian of each underage person.  A Consent to Marriage giving 

your parent’s consent must be signed by the parent/legal guardian.  This 

consent shall be signed in front of the Civil Investigator unless other 

arrangements have been made with the Investigator. 

c.) California State Law (Family Code 302) requires a court order granting 

permission to the underage person to marry, an order shall be obtained after 

the court’s review. 

d.) California State Law (Family Code 304) requires premarital counseling of such 

couple.  This packet includes the form, Declaration of Premarital Counseling.  

Counseling can be done as follows:   
a. through your church 

b. through a private Licensed Marriage/Family/Child Counselor or 

c. through a psychologist 

The premarital counseling must be completed prior to the applications being 

filed with the court.  The Declaration of Premarital Counseling will be completed 

by the person who performed the counseling.  You will file the Declaration 

when you file the applications. 

e.) If there is a pregnancy involved:  a written verification by a qualified physician 

must be submitted with the applications, which must include the anticipated 

due date of that fact.  If there has been a child born from the relationship, a 

copy of the child’s birth certificate must be provided with the applications. 

f.) A copy each applicant’s birth certificate shall be provided, to verify the  

birthdates. 

g.) Each applicant will be evaluated by the Court’s Civil Investigator before 

consideration is given to your consent to marry.  Please be aware: these 

evaluations and judicial reviews usually take from four (4) to eight (8) weeks to 

complete. 

a. Consent to marry will not be considered by the Civil Investigator until you have 

fulfilled the requirements for premarital counseling outlined above.  

b. You need to be aware, however, if either applicant is under 14 years of age, 

there is the likelihood your request to marry will be denied.  Special 

circumstances, however, will be considered. 

c. The natural parent(s) of the minor who is under 18 years of age must accompany 

the couple to their first appointment with the Civil Investigator. 
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What is the court filing fee? 

Each applicant must pay $ 100.00 for a total of $ 200.00 

Please be aware of the following information: 

You need to be aware that the purpose of this law and these procedures are to protect 

and help you in having the best start possible in your marriage.  If the Civil Investigator 

recommends that you do not marry, a specific reason will be given to you.  However, the 

Judge makes the final decision. 

If both parties decide to cancel the process, prior to an order being signed by the Judge, 

a Request for Dismissal must be signed by both parties and filed with the court. 

 
 

The following local forms are included in this packet: 
 

Name of form: 

Application for Judicial Consent to Marry (local form)  
 each applicant must complete an Application  

 two forms are provided in this packet 

Declaration of Premarital Counseling (local form)  

 this form is completed by the counselor (family code 304) 

 
 

Copy, Assemble and File Your Forms 

You must make copies of your original paperwork and assemble your documents prior to 
submitting them to the Clerk’s Office. 

How many copies do you make?   
 make one copy for yourself 
 make one copy for the other applicant 

 

 If a form has writing on both sides: 
 use two separate pages to copy the 2-sided form or 
 copy the 2-sided form (as presented in the packet provided by the court) 
 all 2-sided copies must be “tumbled” or they will be rejected. 

How do I assemble and hole punch my forms? 
 Each form, to be filed, that has multiple pages and/or attachments must be 

stapled.    
 Each original form must be two-hole punched at the top. 

 

Where can I file my paperwork? 

Kings County has four Superior Court locations: 
 AVENAL-501 E. Kings Street, Avenal, CA  93204 (559) 386-5225 

 CORCORAN- 1000 Chittenden Avenue, Corcoran, CA  93212  (559) 992-5193 

 HANFORD- 1426 South Drive, Hanford, CA  93230 (559) 582-1010 

 LEMOORE- 449 “C” Street, Lemoore, CA  93245 (559) 924-7757 

Hours of Operation: 

Business Days:  Monday – Friday 
Except for Court Closure days and Holidays 

Business Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
 

http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/Localforms/LForms/Application%20for%20Judicial%20Consent%20to%20Marry%20(underage%20marriage).pdf
http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/Localforms/LForms/Declaration%20of%20Premarital%20Counseling%20(underage%20marriage).pdf
http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/geninfo/Court_Holiday_Schedule.asp

