
 Superior Court of the State of California 
County of Kings 

1426 South Drive, Hanford, CA 93230 
 

 
Termination of Guardianship 
Packet Purchase Price:  $ 4.00 

 

THERE WILL BE ABSOLUTELY NO REFUNDS OR EXCHANGES ON THE 
PURCHASE OF SUPERIOR COURT FORMS OR PACKETS 

 

How do I ask the court to end a guardianship? 
 

The petition (in this packet) may be filed by the guardian or the minor’s parent.  
The order terminating guardianship, however, is not automatically granted upon 
filing the petition.  The court must be satisfied that the guardianship is no longer 
necessary and the best interests of the minor require termination of the 
guardianship. 

Can a guardianship terminate automatically? 

Yes, when the minor child reaches the age of 18.  No petition or court order is 
necessary to terminate the guardianship at that time.  However, if the 
guardianship is for the estate of the minor, termination of the guardianship does 
not eliminate the requirement that a final report or account be filed (Probate 
Code 1600).  If the child has not reached the age of 18 and termination is 
requested, a court order is required, and a petition for termination of 
guardianship must be filed with the court. 

Do I have to "give notice" that I want to end the guardianship? 

Yes. You have to give notice by mail to all the people that got notice when the 
case started (when the guardianship was filed). 

You must give notice at least 15 days before the hearing. 

Are there any fees when I turn in my paperwork? * 
 

Petition for Termination of Guardian of a person ….......$ 225.00 
Investigation fee ………………………………….………..…$ 300.00 

* If eliligible, these fees may be waived.  Ask the clerk for a Fee Waiver Packet. 
 

  
www.courts.ca.gov 
State of California 
Self-help website 

www.leginfo.ca.gov 
Official California Legislative Information 

website 

http://www.courts.ca.gov/selfhelp/family/divorce/intro.htm#difference
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/


 
 

Complete the forms:  
 

1.   Petition for Termination of Guardianship GC 255 01-01-06 
2.   Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdication and Enforcement 

Act (UCCJEA) GC 120 
01-01-07 

a.   Attachment to Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody 
Jurisdication and Enforcement Act (UCCJEA) GC 120(A) 

01-01-09 

• This form is only used when you have more than two children to list. 
 

Complete the following forms.  Once submitted, the clerk will be lodge them into the file 
until after the hearing: 
 

3.   Order Terminating Guardianship GC 260  01-01-06 
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Obtain a court hearing and noticing parties: 

There are two ways to retrieve a court hearing date: 
1. “Reserve a date”- Prior to delivering your Notice of Hearing to the court, contact the 

calendar desk at the clerk’s office -(559) 582-1010 ext. 3076.   

2. Deliver your Notice of Hearing forms to the court, the court clerk’s office along with 
your petition. 

Once you have received the court date, it is placed on the Notice of Hearing Guardianship, 
GC020.  Service is performed. 

Form name and number: Last revised 
on: 

1.   Notice of Hearing Guardianship or Conservatorship GC 020 07-01-05 

If applicable, the following forms are attached to the Notice of Hearing (GC 020): 
 

If more than four people were served by mail:  
a.   Attachment to Notice of Hearing Proof of Service by Mail GC 020(MA) 07-01-05 

 

If one or more parties were served by personal service: 
b.   Proof of Personal Service of Notice of Hearing GC 020(P) 07-01-05 

 

i.   Attachment to Notice of Hearing Proof of Personal Service GC 020(PA) 07-01-05 

• This form is only used if more than four people were served personally. 

http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc255.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc120.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc120.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc120a.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc120a.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc260.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc020.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/forms/fillable/gc020.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc020ma.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc020p.pdf
http://www.courts.ca.gov/documents/gc020pa.pdf


 

 
Obtain a court hearing and noticing parties: 

 

A copy of the Notice of Hearing, Petition an any other paperwork you filed must be served.  Once 
each party has been noticed, have the server complete the proper proof of service.  If all parties 
have not been served or service has not been attempted, the hearing will not be held. 
2.   Declaration of Diligent Search (local form) 06-05-08 

• This form is used to list information as to any parties that did not get served. 
3.   Proof of Service for Personal Service or by Notice and Acknowlegment of 

Receipt (local form) 
07-01-08 

 

Who is served with the Notice of Hearing and Petition? 
The people who are entitled to service are: Biological Mother, Biological Father, Biological 
Paternal Grandparents, Biological Maternal Grandparents, and any siblings over the age 
of 12.   

What if all parties do not get served? 

The hearing will not be held if all parties have not been served or service has not 
been attempted. 

The form “Declaration of Diligent Search” is provided in this packet for parties that 
cannot be located/served. 
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Copy and assemble your forms for filing: 

 

It is very important that you assemble your paperwork prior to submitting them to the 
Clerk’s Office.  After assembling your original documents you must make copies.  

To assist you with how do do this, read the Tips For Filling Out & Handling Your Court 
Forms (two page sheet is located after the last page of this coversheet) 
 

How many copies do I make and where do I file my paperwork?          
You will need to make a copy for each party to be served, as well as a copy for 
yourself. 

Kings County has four Superior Court locations: 
AVENAL 
501 E. Kings St. 
Avenal, CA  93204 
(559) 386-5225 

CORCORAN 
1000 Chittenden Ave. 
Corcoran, CA  93212 
(559) 992-5193 

HANFORD 
1426 South Drive 
Hanford, CA  93230 
(559) 582-1010 

LEMOORE 
449 “C” St. 
Lemoore, CA  93245 
(559) 924-7757 

Hours of Operation: 
Business Days:  Monday – Friday 

Business Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
  

http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/Localforms/Lforms/Declaration%20of%20Diligent%20Search%20(for%20Guardianship).pdf
http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/Localforms/LForms/Proof%20of%20Service%20for%20Personal%20Service%20or%20by%20Notice%20and%20Acknowledgement%20of%20Receipt%20(guardianship).pdf
http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/Localforms/LForms/Proof%20of%20Service%20for%20Personal%20Service%20or%20by%20Notice%20and%20Acknowledgement%20of%20Receipt%20(guardianship).pdf
http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/Localforms/LForms/Tips%20for%20Filling%20Out%20Your%20Forms.pdf
http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/Localforms/LForms/Tips%20for%20Filling%20Out%20Your%20Forms.pdf
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Guardianship Investigation ONLY for a Relative Guardianship case 

What is the investigation fee for a relative guardianship termination case? 

The investigation fee is $ 300.00.  This fee is paid when the completed investigation 
packet is submitted to the court.  Please be aware there is an annual investigation fee 
of $ 150.00. 

When is the investigation packet submitted? 
The investigation packet should be submitted with the Guardianship Termination forms 
or soon after the forms have been filed.  The investigation will be delayed if the 
investigation fee and all the investigation forms have not been submitted.   

What does the Court Investigator do? 

Once the court has appointed a Court Investigator to your case the investigation can 
begin.    An investigator will review the questionnaires and insure all items and/or forms 
have been submitted.  The investigation fee must have been paid for at this point. 

The Court Investigator will set up a formal home study.  The investigator will: 
• Visit the home where the child will live,  
• Interview the child and the proposed guardian,  
• Interview the parents if needed,  
• Review documents about the child (like school records and medical records), and  
• Do a background check on you and all adults living in the home to see if any of you has 

a record of neglect, abuse or a criminal record.  
 

Complete the forms needed for an investigation on a 
Relative Guardianship Termination case to take place 

Before an investigation can be set up on your relative guardianship case you must deliver to 
the clerk the following forms: 

Form name and number: Last revised on: 

1.   Guardianship Investigation Letter, local form 6-3-11 

• This letter is only a checklist of what is required to be delivered to the court prior to your 
investigation to take place. 

• Do not make copies of this form to file or to serve, it is strictly for your information. 

2.   Guardianship Termination Questionnaire, local form 4-19-11 

• Shall be completed by each petitioner requesting guardianship of the minor(s). 
• Two (2) questionnaires are provided in this packet. 

3.   Personal Reference Questionnaire, local form 4-15-11 

• Shall be completed by six (6) individuals who will vouch for your qualifications as a suitable 

http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/Localforms/LForms/Guardianship%20Investigation%20Letter.pdf
http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/Localforms/LForms/Guardianship%20Termination%20Questionnaire.pdf
http://www.kings.courts.ca.gov/Localforms/LForms/Personal%20Reference%20Questionnaire.pdf
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candidate for the guardianship of the minor(s). 
• Six (6) questionnaires are provided in this packet. 
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