Home
General Information
Fees & Forms
Local Rules
Court RFQs & RFPs
News and Media
Employment Opportunities
Court Locations
Site Map
Glossary of Legal Terms
Appeals
Civil 
Criminal
Exhibits
Family & Children
Family Law Facilitator/Self Help
Jury Services
Juvenile
Landlord / Tenants
Restraining Orders
Small Claims
Traffic
Grand Jury
Security Screening
Related Links
 

Traffic Violator School Program

Eligibility

Payment and Fees

Requesting Traffic School

Failure to complete

Contact

California Traffic Safety Institute
This site provides information on where Traffic Schools are located in your area.

Return to the Traffic Main Page

To access any of the links highlighted in blue that are found on this page, you will need version 5.0 (or higher) of the free
 Adobe Acrobat Reader 

Eligibility

You must meet the following conditions in order to attend the Traffic Violators School:

  1. You must have a valid drivers license at the time you were cited.
  2. You are not currently attending nor have attended a traffic school program within the last 18 months of the date of the current citation.
  3. Your violation must be for a moving violation and does not have a misdemeanor charge or require a mandatory appearance in court.
  4. Your citation is not for Vehicle Code sections 22406.5 or 21655.5
  5. You do not possess a commercial drivers license.

If you wish to view any of the Vehicle Codes, they are available through the California Law web site located at www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html. Then, follow the directions for finding the code(s) you are interested in.

If you are not eligible to attend, but do so anyway, the conviction will be reported to Department of Motor Vehicles and placed on your drivers record. There will be no refund of any fees paid.

Payment and Fees

If you meet all the conditions listed above, you may choose to attend Traffic Violator School.  You must post the full bail amount, and any required proof of correction as well as a non refundable administrative fee of $69.00.  Time payments are  allowed and are payable in 3 equal monthly installments.  You may appear in person or submit the bail amount and administrative fee of $69.00 to Superior Court of Kings County by mail.  If you are requesting the time payment option you must appear in person. In addition to the fees paid to the court for traffic violator school you will also be charged a fee by the school you attend.

Requesting Traffic School

If you meet the conditions listed above, you may choose to attend the Traffic Violator School. You must post the full bail amount, and any required proof of correction as well as a nonrefundable administrative fee of $69.00. Time Payments are allowed and are payable in three equal monthly installments. You may appear in person or submit the bail amount and administrative fee of $69.00 to Superior Court of Kings County by mail. You may also pay for traffic school through our web site at www.kings.courts.ca.gov. You must contact the court clerk prior to paying bail amount through the web site to see if you are eligible for traffic school. The court clerk will assess the administrative fee of $69.00 for traffic school at that time. If you choose to pay through the website, the bail must be paid in full. Time payment plans and partial payments cannot be accepted through the website. If you are requesting the time payment option you must appear in person. A nonrefundable administrative fee of $50.00 will be charged for any citation placed on a time payment plan. In addition to the fees paid to the court for traffic violator school you will also be charged a fee by the school you attend. You may not elect to attend traffic school at a later date after payment of the citation.

You may appear at the Traffic School Window located at 1640 Kings County Dr, Hanford, CA 93230. Office hours are Monday through Thursday from 8:00am to 4:00pm and Fridays from 8:00am to 11:30am. Telephone number (559) 582-1010, select option 1 for the Traffic Department. You may also pay for your citation by using our web site www.kings.courts.ca.gov. You will  receive a statewide list of qualified Traffic Schools by return mail and a date by which you must complete the traffic school. The website is not an option for any citations issued for a correctable violation.

 

Failure to Complete

Failure to complete traffic school by the due date will result in a forfeiture of your fees and a conviction reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Contact

If you have any questions regarding traffic school and need further assistance, please contact (559) 582-1010 select option 1 for the Traffic Department.

 
Superior Court of California, Kings County
All contents copyright (C) 2003, All rights reserved.