The Kings County Superior Court operates on a One
Trial/One Day system.
This means a juror is instructed to telephone the
court for reporting instructions. The juror
may telephone the day before the reporting date after 12:00 noon. If the
reporting date is on a Monday, the juror may call the Friday before after
12:00 noon for reporting instructions.
Once instructed to report to the courthouse, a
juror may or may not be selected as a juror in a trial court. The Jury
Commissioner is required to have a sufficient number of jurors for all
anticipated trials. The jury staff tries to carefully estimate the number
of jurors needed but there are many variables outside their control. For
example, a defendant may plea to a different charge or a case may settle
at the last moment.
If a prospective juror is selected to serve on a
trial as a sworn juror, the term of service will be the length of that
trial. Trials vary in length, but generally last two to three days.
If a prospective juror is not selected to serve on
a trial by the end of the first day, and the judge has not ordered the
juror to return for another day of jury selection, jury service is
complete. Approximately 80% of our prospective jurors complete their
service in one day.
State law does not currently require employers to
continue paying the salary of employees while they are serving as jurors.
However, many employers, including state, federal, and local government
agencies, have a policy which compensates employees for at least part, if
not all the time spent for jury service. Before coming to court, the
juror should talk with his or her employer.
Prospective jurors are paid the amount mandated by
the State Legislature, $15.00 per day and 34 cents per mile, one way
commencing on the second day of service and every day thereafter. There
is no pay for the first day of service. “Service is defined as physically
reporting to the courthouse. The amount paid for mileage is calculated by
juror zip code. Juror payroll is processed every Friday. It is therefore
possible that a juror will receive more than one check for jury service.
Payroll checks are not forwarded by the Post
Office. Therefore it is important that the jury office has the correct
name and address of each of its serving jurors in order to make sure
jurors receive their checks timely.
Every resident of Kings County who is qualified to
serve and who does not have a legal hardship or excuse must appear for
jury service when summoned. Willful failure to appear is contempt of
court and punishable by a fine of up to $1000.00 and/or five days in the
Employers cannot discriminate against employees
serving on jury duty. Employers allow employees time off to serve on a
jury. The California Labor Code, section 230, prohibits any
employer from firing or harassing an employee who is summoned to court for
jury service as long as reasonable notice is given. The California
Education Code, sections 44037 and 87036
teachers and students as well. Employers can also be prosecuted
criminally and face a misdemeanor charge if found guilty.
If you wish to view any of these codes, they are available through the California Law web
site located at
Then, follow the directions for finding the code(s) you are interested in.
If you will need special arrangements when
you report (e.g., assistant listening device, sign language interpreter,
etc.), please contact the court by phone upon receiving the summons. If
you are requesting a sign language interpreter, it is possible that your
service date will be rescheduled to the next available date for an
Interpreter. You will be notified of any changes.
The Jury Commissioner’s Department is
located on the first floor of the two-story courthouse located at the West
end of the Government Complex, 1426 South Drive, Building B, Hanford, CA. The staff
is available to assist you during our regular working hours.
Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00
p.m., excluding court holidays.
To inquire if you are ordered to appear
for jury duty:
(559) 582-1010 extension 5043 or 5044 (check
your summons for correct extension)
24-Hour Recorded Reporting Information
To speak to a Customer Service Staff
(559) 582-1010 extension 5041 or 5042
Monday through Friday, excluding court
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
We encourage your input. You may address
your remarks to the Jury Commissioner, 1426 South Drive, Hanford, CA