Home
General Information
Fees & Forms
Local Rules
Court RFQs & RFPs
News and Media
Employment Opportunities
Court Locations
Site Map
Glossary of Legal Terms
Court Calendars
Appeals
Civil 
Criminal
Exhibits
Family & Children
Family Law Facilitator/Self Help
Jury Services
Juvenile
Landlord / Tenants
Restraining Orders
Small Claims
Traffic
Grand Jury
Security Screening
Related Links
 

Disqualification/Request for Postponement/Excuse

 

Disqualification
 

Request for Postponement
 

Request for Excuse
 

Return to the Jury Services Main Page

To access any of the links highlighted in blue that are found on this page, you will need version 5.0 (or higher) of the free
 Adobe Acrobat Reader 

Disqualification

Qualifications for jury service are established by California Code of Civil Procedure, Section 203, and are outlined below.  If you find that you are not qualified to serve, please complete the bottom portion of your summons titled "Part Two."   Once completed, detach and return the Affidavit by placing a stamp on the Affidavit and placing it in the mail, fax it to (559) 585-3262 or hand carry it to the Jury Commissioner's office. Affidavits must be received by the jury office at least five working days prior to your service. Otherwise, you are expected to be available as scheduled. If you wish to view the Code of Civil Procedure, they are available through the California Law web site located at www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html. Then, follow the directions for finding the code(s) you are interested in.

 

To be eligible to serve you must meet the following criteria:MUST NOT BE/HAVE 

A Citizen of the United States

At least 18 years of age

Resident of Kings County

Sufficient understanding of the English language

 

You are not eligible to serve if any of the following categories pertain to you:

Currently serving as a Grand Juror or served as a Trial Juror during the previous 12 months

Under court appointed conservatorship

Have been convicted of a felony or malfeasance in office and not had your civil rights restored

Peace Officer pursuant to 830.1, 830.1(c), or 830.2(a) of the Penal Code (Correctional Officers are not exempt)

If you wish to view the Penal Code, they are available through the California Law web site located at www.leginfo.ca.gov/calaw.html. Then, follow the directions for finding the code(s) you are interested in.

 

Request for Postponement

Our courts deal with issues that affect our neighborhoods, our families, the business community and quality of life in our community.  Everyone must participate in the process created to resolve these issues. That may mean rearranging schedules, canceling appointments and missing work.  Jury staff will be as flexible as possible when scheduling jurors for jury service.

If your summoned date is not convenient, you may request ONE  postponement for a period of up to 90 to 180 days.  (Students & Teachers may be rescheduled to the next school break.  Breastfeeding mothers may be postponed for a period of up to one year.)

To request a postponement, please complete the backside, bottom portion of your summons titled "Part Two."  Once completed, detach and return the Affidavit by mail,  fax it to (559) 585-3262 or hand carry it to the Jury Commissioner's office.  Affidavits must be received by the jury office at least five days prior to your service. Otherwise, you are expected to be available as scheduled.

 

Request for Excuse

California Rule of Court, Rule 860, specifies the grounds on which the Jury Commissioner's Office is allowed to excuse jurors from jury service.  It states, "Jury service, unless excused by law, is a responsibility of citizenship.  The court and its staff shall employ all necessary and appropriate means to ensure that citizens fulfill this important and civic duty."  Postponing jury service is preferred to excusing a prospective juror.  Inconvenience to a prospective juror or employer is not an adequate reason to be excused from jury duty.  Requests must be made in writing and supported with facts and/or appropriate documentation as outlined below. 

In order to be excused, jury service must represent an undue hardship as outlined in California Rule of Court, Rule 860, below. 

(1) The prospective juror has no reasonably available means of public or private transportation.

(2) The prospective juror has a personal obligation to provide care to another between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.  Comparable care is not economically practical.  Supported by a statement from the patientís doctor.

(3) The prospective juror  has a serious physical or mental condition and jury service would expose him/her to undue risk of physical or mental hardship.   NOTE:  IF THE JUROR IS UNDER 70 YEARS OLD, HE/SHE MUST OBTAIN A STATEMENT FROM A DOCTOR THAT CLEARLY STATES THAT THE JUROR CANNOT SERVE JURY DUTY FOR MEDICAL REASONS.

(4) The prospective juror has served jury service within the preceding 12 months. 

To request an excuse, follow the instructions and complete the back side, bottom portion of your summons titled "Part Two."  Once completed, detach and return the Affidavit by mail,  fax it to (559) 585-3262 or hand carry it to the Jury Commissioner's office.  Affidavits must be received by the jury office at least five days prior to your service.  Otherwise, you are expected to be available as scheduled.

 

 

 
Superior Court of California, Kings County
All contents copyright (C) 2003, All rights reserved.