
 

Superior Court of the State of California 
County of Kings 

1426 South Drive, Hanford, CA 93230 
(559) 582-1010 

There will be absolutely no refunds or 
exchanges on the purchase of court 

forms or packets 

 Dissolution of  Domestic Partnership, Legal Separation for 
Domestic Partnership, or Nullity of Domestic Partnership 

Packet Purchase Price:  $20.00 

California Residency Requirements:  
To file for dissolution of domestic partner in California, either you or your partner must have lived in:  

• California for the last 6 months, AND  
• the county where you plan to file the divorce for the last 3 months.  

     If you and your partner have lived in California for at least 6 months but in different counties for at least 3 
months, you can file in either county. 
     If you do not meet the residency requirement, you can still file for a legal separation.  Once enough time has 
passed so that you meet the residency requirement for a divorce, you may file an "amended petition" and ask the 
court for a divorce. 
A legal separation of Domestic Partnership does not end a of domestic partnership.  You can't enter into a 
partnership with someone else if you are legally separated (and not divorced).  A legal separation is for couples 
that do not want to get divorced but want to live apart and decide on money, property, and parenting issues. 
An annulment of Domestic Partnership (or "nullity of domestic partnership" ) is when a court says your marriage 
is NOT legally valid. A marriage can be declared "void" because of:  an incestuous or bigamous marriage; of force, 
fraud, unsound mind, physical incapacity; petitioner’s age at time of marriage; or a prior existing marriage 

 

Filing fees :  
          Petition or first paper (for petitioner)………………………..……$ 320.00 
          Response to the Petition or first paper (for respondent)…......$ 320.00 

 
There may be other forms and/or attachments you may need in your particular case. 

Forms are available at the Clerk’s Office on specific request , for a fee of .50¢ per page. 
Form 

number    
Name of form: Instructions 

provided  
on form? 

Last 
revised 

on: 

# of 
pages 

Forms used to open a family law case: 
FL 103 Petition –Domestic Partnership yes 01-01-05 2 

FL 110 Summons  yes 01-01-06 2 

FL 150 Income and Expense Declaration (if applicable, copy and attach your 
paystubs on an 8 1/2” x 11” sheet and staple behind page 4) 

no 01-01-07 4 

Form used If there are minor children: 
FL 105 Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and 

Enforcement Act (UCCJEA)  
yes 01-01-07 2 

Forms served blank to the other party:  
*note only one of each of the following forms is included in this packet, you must make an extra copy 
prior to completing or purchase additional forms at the Clerk’s Office : 
FL 150 Income and Expense Declaration no 01-01-07 4 

FL 105 Declaration Under Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction and 
Enforcement Act (UCCJEA)  

yes 01-01-07 2 

FL 120 Response –Domestic Partnership no 01-01-05 2 

Form used after service is performed: 
FL 115 Proof of Service of Summons (Family Law) no 01-01-05 2 

FL 117 Notice and Acknowledgment of Receipt (Family Law) (optional use) no 01-01-05 1 

  Forms continued on page 2  
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http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl103.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl110.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl150.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl105.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl105.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl150.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl105.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl105.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl120.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl115.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl117.pdf
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Miscellaneous forms: 
FL 160 Property Declaration  yes 01-01-07 2 

FL 161 Continuation of Property Declaration (attached to FL160) no 01-01-05 2 

FL 140 Declaration of Disclosure (form is NOT filed with the court) yes 01-01-03 1 

FL 141 Declaration Regarding Service of Declaration of Disclosure yes 01-01-03 1 

FL 130 Appearance, Stipulations, and Waivers no 01-01-06 1 

Forms for Default and Judgment: 
FL 165 Request to Enter Default (Family Law-Uniform Parentage) yes 01-01-05 2 

FL 170 Declaration for Default or Uncontested Dissolution or Legal Separation  no 01-01-07 2 

FL 180 Judgment no 01-01-07 2 

FL 190 Notice of Entry of Judgment (Family Law) yes 01-01-05 1 

Forms regarding Child Support: 
FL 191 Child Support Case Registry Form no 07-01-05 4 

FL 192 Notice of Rights and Responsibilities no 01-01-06 2 

FL 195 Order/Notice to Withhold Income for Child Support  yes no date 2 
 

Please be aware of the following information: 
  The Court will require the same adherence to all of the laws of the State and 

California Rules of Court, as if you were represented by an attorney. 

  Clerk  personnel are not permitted to, nor will they give legal advice or help in 
completing any form.  Please do not ask our clerks to give you legal assistance or 
advice.  The Clerk of the Court and his deputies are prohibited by law from 
rendering legal assistance or advice in court proceedings (Sec. 24004 & 68082 Gov. 
code).  Persons appearing in their own behalf are responsible for preparing and 
presenting their pleadings in complete and proper form without legal assistance 
from deputies of the Superior Court Clerk's office.   

 

Assistance may be obtained from: 
  Self-Help Center located online at www.courtinfo.ca.gov.  Judicial Council forms of 

California can be accessed, filled in, and printed at this website. 
 A typing or paralegal service.  A list of these services can be obtained from this 

office.  
 Questions pertaining to legal matters or the proper completion of the appropriate 

forms should be answered by an attorney.    
 California Law Codes such as family codes, civil codes, government codes, etc. 

www.leginfo.ca.gov. 

Preparing documents for filing: 
 All pleadings and papers must be typed or legibly handwritten in blue or black ink.  
 The law requires your name (petitioner), address, and telephone number be typed 

or legibly handwritten in blue or black ink in the upper left hand corner of all 
documents presented for filing. 

 Each original form submitted for filing must be two-hole punched at the top.    

 Personnel in the Clerk's office have been instructed not to file any papers which are 
not properly completed or assembled. 

http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl160.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl161.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl140.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl141.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl130.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl165.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl170.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl180.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl190.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl191.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/documents/fl192.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/forms/fillable/fl195.pdf
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/


Coversheet last updated on 12-29-06, forms updated 01-01-07  Page 3 of 4 
 
 

Do I complete all the forms? 

No, not all forms included in this packet are filed with the Petition (form FL100).  There 
are forms in this packet that will be utilitzed at a later time, depending on your 
circumstance. 

From each original form, how many copies do I make? 

1.  one copy for  yourself 

2. at least one copy to have served to the other party in this case 

How do I make copies? 

Each two sided copy must be tumbled (180°) (as presented in the packet) 

How are forms assembled? 

Each set of forms must be stapled.  Staple together each form with multiple pages.  

Example:  the Income and Expense Declaration form has four pages and you may 
need to attach your paystubs to the back, all four pages and attachments are to 
be stapled together as one set). 

What do I do with my forms? 

Submit your completed and assembled forms to the clerk’s office to open your 
case.  Clerk personnel are not permitted to assemble your paperwork for you. 

Your copies will be stamped with a case number, conformed and returned to you.   

See the section in on page 2 of this coversheet regarding who you can obtain 
assistance from. 

The Judgment of Dissolution of Domestic Partnership  
shall set forth the following: 

a. The legal and physical custody of the minor children (name each child/children and give 
date of birth) and visitation; 

a. Child support (payment through Department of Child Support Services to enforce if recipient 
of child support is receiving public assistance; 

b. Spousal support and/or waiver of same; 

c. Specifically set forth in the judgment the division of property, including legal descriptions of 
real property, vehicle license numbers and the descriptions; 

d. Division of debts - names of creditors and amounts; 

e. Restraining orders requested; 

f. If additional space is needed to complete proposed Judgment use 8 1/2 " X 11 " sheet of 
plain paper to type continuation, providing a date and signature line on the bottom of the 
page as shown on the Judgment, and attach as "Page 2". 

 



Coversheet last updated on 12-29-06, forms updated 01-01-07  Page 4 of 4 
 
 

Preparing and submitting a Judgment (form #FL180): 

A Judgment is submitted for Judge’s review and signature.  Submit to the clerk’s office 
the original and three (3) copies: 

1. the original for the court file 
2. one copy for the court to keep for the state 
3. one copy for  yourself 
4. one copy for the other party or attorney for the other party in this case 

 

Notice of Entry of Judgment (form #FL190): 

See detailed instructions on this form on the instruction sheet included in this packet.  
You are to complete the addresses, on the lower portion of this form as indicated. 
 

Submit to the clerk’s office the original and two (2) copies:  

1. the original for the court file 
2. one copy for  yourself 
3. one copy for the other party or attorney for the other party in this case 
4. one self addressed/stamped envelope for yourself .  The envelope must be large 

enough to accommodate the Judgment.  Preferably an 8 ½” x 11” envelope.  
There must be enough postage on the envelope to mail the judgment. 

5. one self addressed/stamped envelope for the other party or attorney for the 
other party .  The envelope must be large enough to accommodate the 
Judgment.  Preferably an 8 ½” x 11” envelope.  There must be enough postage 
on the envelope to mail the judgment. 

IMPORTANT NOTES: 
Failure to complete the Judgment and/or the two self addressed stamped envelopes may 
cause the Judgment to be rejected and placed in the pick-up drawer unsigned and/or 
unprocessed.   This means your dissolution/legal separation/nullity will not be final. 

In a case where child support of family support is ordered, the parent who submits a judgment 
or order must complete the attached form, Child Support Case Registry Form (FL191) and submit 
it to the court.  If any modifications or changes arise, you are required to submit a new Child 
Support Case Registry Form (form FL191) to the court. 
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